Glen Faulkner playing the Diddly BowOscar Hall of Galax, VA


Southern Journey (Revisited)


Feature documentary. 75 mins

In UK cinemas September 25th! Please check back as screenings are being added regularly as they go on sale.

Friday 25th September
18.00 Lewes Depot + Q&A
18:45 Arthouse Crouch End
20.15 Lewes Depot

Saturday 26th September
17.30 Lewes Depot

Sunday 27th September
15.00 Lewes Depot
15:30 Arthouse Crouch End
20.10 Home, Manchester + Intro

Monday 28th September
20.00 Lewes Depot

Tuesday 29th September
17.15 Lewes Depot

Wednesday 30th September
13.30 Lewes Depot
20:00 Arthouse Crouch End + Q&A w/ Sam Amidon

Thursday 1st October
17.45 Lewes Depot

Sunday 4th October
15.00 Rio Cinema, Dalston + Q&A w/ Stewart Lee

Tuesday 6th October
18:30 Genesis Cinema, London + Q&A

Friday 9th October
20:00 Cube Cinema, Bristol + Q&A

Saturday 17th October
15:30 Queen’s Film Theatre, Belfast
20:00 Electric Palace, Hastings + Q&A

Sunday 18th October
20:00 Electric Palace, Hastings

Thursday 26 November
TBC Broadway Cinema, Nottingham 

Forthcoming

Exploring the truths behind the stereotypes of the Southern USA, SOUTHERN JOURNEY (REVISITED) is both a music documentary and a road movie. Set against the incendiary backdrop of the 2018 mid-term elections, and accompanied by a glorious soundtrack of blues and bluegrass, hollers and spirituals, the film retraces the route of an iconic song collecting trip from the late 1950s – Alan Lomax’s so-called “Southern Journey”.

Lomax was accompanied on the trip by the not-yet-famous English folk singer Shirley Collins, and the music they collected is an unparalleled single collection of traditional roots music, inspiring a host of folk musicians as well as providing the inspiration for the soundtrack to the Coen Brother’s ‘O Brother Where Art Thou’.

The film travels the back roads of the rural South, and while the focus is on the transcendental roots music of the region, it also contradicts the many reductive stereotypes about the region and offers insight into the historical injustices that underpin the Black Llives Matter movement.

Southern Journey (Revisited) was produced in partnership with the Association for Cultural Equity, LUSH and the Virginia Film Office.

Press


Southern JoSouther
© Fifth Column Films 2020